2021 Meritorious Awards

Nomination Deadline – November 15, 2019

The recipients of ASIP Meritorious Awards are selected each year by the ASIP Meritorious Awards Committee. Click here for detailed information about these awards and instructions for nominations.

Nominations for the ALL ASIP Awards should include:

  1. Three letters of recommendation, including at least two from current ASIP members. Letters of recommendation should be updated in subsequent years if the nomination is renewed.
  2. The nominee’s curriculum vitae (CV), including a complete bibliography of published research. The nominee’s CV should be updated in subsequent years if the nomination is renewed.

ASIP Gold-Headed Cane Award

The ASIP Gold-Headed Cane Award is the society’s oldest and most prestigious award. It was first given in 1919 and has been awarded on 69 occasions. This award recognizes significant long-term contributions to the field of pathology, including meritorious research, outstanding teaching, general excellence in the discipline, and demonstrated leadership in the field of pathology. The selected awardee will receive a mahogany cane topped with a 14-karat gold head and engraved band.

ASIP Rous-Whipple Award

First awarded in 1976, the ASIP Rous-Whipple Award was established in honor of the Presidents of the American Society for Experimental Pathology (ASEP) and the American Association of Pathologists and Bacteriologists (AAPB) when the coalesced societies emerged as the American Association of Pathologists (AAP, which was later renamed the ASIP in 1992). The ASIP Rous-Whipple Award is presented to a senior scientist with a distinguished career in research who has advanced the understanding of disease and has continued productivity at the time of the award. Awardees receive a commemorative plaque.

ASIP Outstanding Investigator Award 
This prestigious award recognizes mid-career investigators with demonstrated excellence in research in experimental pathology. The Meritorious Awards Committee will consider the published record of peer-reviewed research and overall impact of the science, mentorship, and participation of the candidate and protégés in ASIP scientific meetings. Awardees will deliver an Award Lecture at the ASIP Annual Meeting. In addition, the awardee will submit a manuscript based on their award lecture that will form the basis of a peer-reviewed publication in The American Journal of Pathology . Awardees receive a commemorative etched crystal award.

ASIP Robbins Distinguished Educator Award 

The ASIP Robbins Distinguished Educator Award recognizes individuals whose contributions to education in pathology have had a manifest impact at a regional, national, or international level. The award is named in honor of Dr. Stanley L. Robbins and is partially supported by an unrestricted educational grant from Elsevier. Evidence of exemplary contributions to education in pathology must be explicitly delineated in the nomination package. Awardees receive a commemorative etched glass award.