ASIP Member Dr. James Musser featured for COVID-19 Research

James Musser, MD, spoke with The New York Times about how COVID-19's genetic code plays a vital role in controlling the virus.

Since last March, a team of researchers led by Dr. James Musser, chair of the department of pathology and genomic medicine at Houston Methodist Hospital, have been sequencing the viral genomes drawn from patients — 20,000 genomes so far. This new study has found that every coronavirus variant of concern to researchers around the world has been circulating in Houston at a low level for at least six to eight weeks. Houston is the first U.S. city to find all of the variants, including those recently reported in California and New York and the ones found in Brazil, Britain and South Africa.

In Memorium: Dr. Emanuel Rubin

Dr. Emanuel Rubin 1928-2021 Emanuel Rubin, an internationally recognized pathologist and leading innovator in education, died on February 13, 2021. Born in Brooklyn in 1928 and raised in Atlantic City, Dr. Rubin launched his exceptional academic career at Harvard Medical School (MD, 1954) after earning a BS degree from Villanova in 1950. He served in [...]

Richard N. Mitchell, MD, PhD

Dr. Rick Mitchell officially assumed the role of President of the ASIP on July 1, 2020. In a normal year, Dr. Mitchell would have received his Presidential Gavel at the ASIP Business Meeting during the 2020 Annual Meeting (scheduled for San Diego in April 2020). Given the COVID-19-related cancellation of Experimental Biology 2020, we planned [...]

Thank You for Your Service to the ASIP!

The American Society for Investigative Pathology is an organization that relies upon actively engaged volunteers and elected leaders to effectively accomplish its mission, goals, and objectives. Newly elected leaders and volunteers began new terms of service on July 1. We sincerely thank the following individuals for their service to the Society over the last few [...]

Angela Wandinger-Ness, PhD has been honored with a 2020 Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring

PHOTO COURTESY OF UNM HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER Angela Wandinger-Ness, shown outside the UNM Health Sciences Center, has mentored 270 students during her 29-year teaching career. Congratulations to ASIP Member Angela Wandinger-Ness who will receive a 2020 Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring. She also received the 2020 AAAS Lifetime Mentor Award. [...]